New Calling/ News

I was officially set apart on Sunday, but something unexpected also happened that day. One of the counselors in the bishopric called me on Saturday and asked me to come to church a little early on Sunday. I expected that I was going to either be asked to give a talk or given a calling, but I had no idea what kind of calling. Anyway, Sunday rolled around and I met with the counselor. So in addition to being set apart as a missionary, I was also set apart as a primary teacher in the nursery. Surprise! We’re not sure if I will be teaching the older kids (2-3 years old) or the younger  kids (1-2 years old), but I will probably find out this Sunday. I’m excited about my new calling and I’m hoping that this will help me get to know the members of the ward a little better.

One funny thing is that we went to this thrift store the other day and I bought a couple children books about bible stories and other church related stories. Now I can put those books to good use. 🙂

As far as the mission itself goes, I’ve been keeping pretty busy. They have trained me now to work at the front desk where they give the tours. Up until now I had been working at what they call the south desk where people come in to apply for work and do any paperwork related to their jobs at the center. I was also trained in how to administer assessment tests. We use these tests to see how much people have improved in their English skills since coming to the center. I’ve been getting to know the people at the humanitarian center a little better. Everyone is really nice and it a really positive and spiritual environment to be in.

The missionaries have a short devotional every morning and we have a spiritual thought and prayer. Then a few missionaries stay and have scripture study together. It’s a good boost to the day and it’s fun to get to know the other missionaries.

I’m excited about what the coming weeks will bring. I am hoping to start working at the temple next week or the week after. I’m trying to follow mission rules as much as possible and I’m working on getting into a more set schedule. Hopefully within the next couple weeks I will get into a routine and be able to accomplish everything. I wasn’t able to send out letters as early as I had hoped, but I’m going to work on them again today.

More and more I am seeing just how much the church does to help people all over the world. If you ever feel like there are causes you want to help with or more you would like to do, chances are that the church has already been there and is already doing something to help. If you would like to be part of these efforts, you can donate to the welfare department of the church or donate to Deseret Industries or see how you can help more directly in what is being done. It is a truly amazing work to be part of and I’m grateful to have the opportunity to help with the bigger picture of all that the church does.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

