Blurring the Lines

One of the interesting things about my mission is that the lines aren’t clearly defined. The rules aren’t set in stone and I can decide how I want to spend my time and what my ultimate goals are.

This week I had a meeting with the missionary coordinator at the Humanitarian center. She got to know me a little more and we talked about my goals and how I wanted this mission to run and be set up. She told me that she is thinking that maybe they’re there to serve me as much as I’m there to serve them. We talked about some of my long term goals and she made some suggestions about how I can spend some of my time at the Humanitarian center. She offered to take me to different places that I’m interested in to potentially find jobs for the future. Since the goal of the Humanitarian center is to help people find jobs that fit them, she said that I could take advantage of that atmosphere and use it to figure out what I would like to do after the mission.

After our meeting, she took me on a tour of the Deseret Manufacturing building. This is where they make the mattresses, dressers, and other furniture that DI sells. They also make all of the signs for buildings there. So if you’ve ever noticed the cafeteria sign in the temple or the plastic signs outside of bishops’ offices, these are all made in Deseret Manufacturing.

We also walked around the entire bottom floor of the Humanitarian center. It is huge! I can say with confidence that nothing donated to DI is ever wasted. If it can be used, we will find a place for it. The Humanitarian center helps distribute excess donations to DIs that don’t receive as many donations. We also send clothes that aren’t usable to other organizations that use them as rags to make rugs, etc.

I had the last two weeks off from working at the temple because of Women’s Conference and General Conference. I was still able to go as a patron though. Our trainer said that we should always remember that the greatest work done in the temple is done by the patrons. These last couple weeks I’ve decided to make a greater commitment to be a temple patron and not just a temple worker.

Along with this commitment, I’m also planning to do more family history work. My sister has been working on family history for a while now and I’ve been meaning to help her, but I wasn’t sure how it all worked until now. So starting Monday I am planning on going to the family history center here on a regular basis.

I’m excited for the new opportunities available to me and I’m looking forward to what the future holds. I hope you were all able to watch conference. I really enjoyed it and I can’t wait to reread the talks. I know I have a long way to go on my spiritual journey, but everything I learn helps bring me one step closer to where I need to be and I’m grateful for those blessings.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

