Becoming Better

This has been a week of many revelations for me. I’ve seen so many ways that I want to be better and do more and try harder. I know that I have a long way to go from where I am to where I want to be, but I’m definitely committing to try harder.

This past week I started doing initiatories at the temple.  While doing this, I met one of the most amazing people. She was just so happy. It was like she glowed. I loved being able to do the ordinance for her and I think she helped me to feel more comfortable so I could memorize it faster. I just kept thinking though that I want to be like that someday. I want to be so happy that I shine and make others want to be happy too.

I have also started studying Arabic and Japanese this week. I was talking to one of the associates at the Humanitarian Center, and they expressed to me that it was hard for them to learn English and that it would be easier if they were young and single. I’ve been thinking about that statement a lot since then and I decided that I should take advantage of the fact that I am young and single and try to learn new languages. So, I looked online to see what new languages I could learn. I decided on Arabic because a majority of the people at the Humanitarian center speak Arabic. Then I started with Japanese because I just really like how Japanese sounds. It is such a beautiful and interesting language.

So far the family history work is going fairly slow. I figure it will probably be that way for a while since the groundwork needs to be set up. I did look at some of the work that had been done on my dad’s side though and found out that we are related to Charlemagne and various kings and queens of Sweden, England, and prior civilizations. It was pretty cool to see one line go all the way back to Adam and Eve.

Anyway, this week I am striving to be a better person and a better missionary. I have realized that this world has so much more to offer us than we usually take advantage of.       I don’t want to be comfortable anymore. I don’t want to live like I’ve learned enough or done enough or seen enough. I want to be better and learn more and experience more. I want to be the type of person that never stops being in awe of all that God has provided for us.

 

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

