Busy

These last two weeks have been incredibly busy as well as incredibly rewarding. I have visited my sister and her family, gotten involved with https://vineyard.lds.org/, attended institute, been involved with several projects at the humanitarian center, and tried to stay on top of everything else that I do every week. It has been both fun and challenging.

A few weeks ago, I started looking at some other missions that I could do on the days that I don’t go to the humanitarian center. Although there are quite a few missions available, I couldn’t find anything that really fit my needs and wants. I noticed that some of the missions available were doing work that could be done on the vineyard website. So instead of applying for another mission, I decided to just do online work when I felt like I had some time to spare.

This has worked out very nicely because I was having a lot of downtime at the humanitarian center and I could easily fill that time doing these mini service projects. However, that downtime has also become increasingly filled with needs of people at the humanitarian center. I have been asked to help produce documents, do research on different subjects, and help people to find and apply for jobs. I’m finding that the more I do, the more I am asked to do, which is really a great thing.

In addition to keeping busy at the humanitarian center, I have also become better at keeping busy at home. I’ve attended several single’s ward activities and I signed up for an institute class. I also had the opportunity the past couple weekends to visit with my sister and her family and to babysit my nephew. It is always rewarding to be able to see and spend time with my family.

After visiting with my sister, she let me borrow a few books on cd that I have really enjoyed listening to. Although I already own some of the books I borrowed, it was a completely different experience listening to them being read by the author.  It gave me a different view of what was being said and what they meant by it. I’ve enjoyed listening to these books and other talks on cd as I drive to and from places. Not only has it helped me be a more forgiving driver, but it has also helped me to realize truths that I didn’t know or understand before. I think that it has already made me a better person and I have learned an incredible amount.

If you haven’t checked out my insights page yet, I’ve made some new posts on the things I’ve been learning. I’m learning so much and I’m so grateful for all the opportunities I have to learn more and grow closer to God.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

