Strengthening trials

Have you ever looked back at something you did and wondered at how amazing it was? This week I looked back at some of the poems I have written over the years. I haven’t written a poem in a very long time. Well, maybe it’s only been a year… but it seems like a very long time.

During some difficult times in my life I wrote poems nearly every day. It may not surprise you that inspiration came easily during those times. The difficult times were some of my most creative times. I have at least 60 poems and songs that I posted and I composed a lot more that were never written down or have been lost over the years. At that time, I didn’t have to seek inspiration. I just wrote when inspiration came. Now, I don’t feel the poetry come easily to me and so I write other things- like this blog. 🙂

Although I don’t envy the trials I had back then, it is interesting how our trials can sometimes be the most strengthening times of our lives. We learn, we grow, and we become during and because of trials.

Right now, I feel that I am at one of the easiest times of my life. I’m happy, I feel loved and taken care of, I have purpose and direction to my life, and in general my trials don’t press upon my mind. In this time of plenty, I am even more grateful for my trials. Sometimes it is easier for us to fall away when we are blessed with prosperity than when we are blessed with trials. I am grateful for my trials now more than ever, not because they are over and I see the goodness they brought, but because they made me stronger.

They make me want to use this time to the fullest- to get to know Christ better, to read my scriptures more, to learn new things, to help more people. I know what it is like to not be able to do those things. I know what it’s like to be in a mental fog and struggle to do the basics of life without attempting to do more or be better. So because of that, I intend to use this time the best that I know how. I feel driven to accomplish as much as possible because I don’t know how long this time will last and I want to learn as much as I can and do as much as I can with the time I have been given.

This week has been a reflection of that. I almost don’t want to go to bed at night because I want to use that time to study and learn and grow, but my tiredness wins out in the end. I am excited by the new opportunities that I am being presented with and I am looking forward to the continued growth and learning that will come with them.

I hope that you are all well and that you will enjoy the time you have been given, whether it is a time of trials or a time of prosperity. Life is a blessing and if we only treat it as such, we will be so much happier.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

