Understanding Life

I don’t know what God has planned for my life but whatever it is I think I’m going to need to be very understanding in order to accomplish it. I’ve been blessed with many trials in my life. Some of these have been well known by others and some of them I haven’t even really known or understood. But I can’t help but feel like each of these trials is leading me somewhere. Each trial changes me, forms and molds me to the person that God wants and needs me to be in order to accomplish His plan for me.

I sometimes think that either I must have needed a lot of work to get me to where God wants me to be or He must have really trusted me in the life before this one. That’s not to say that I am complete or done on my spiritual journey, but I think God is slowly carrying me trial after trial to the person He knows I can become.

I remember hearing a talk in church where someone was asked if their trials were tests from God, how they thought they had fared. I’d like to say that I’ve passed my tests with flying colors, but that hasn’t always been the case. I have struggled through some tests and I have probably failed miserably on others. Luckily for me, the tests aren’t over yet. I have always sought to learn from my past mistakes and I hope that when certain trials come up again, I can pass them a little better the second time around.

I’ve also heard it said that life is only a test. I have to disagree with this statement. Our life and our trials are not only tests. Tests are meant to measure how much you have learned, but generally do not teach you much in and of themselves. Trials on the other hand can teach you things while you’re in them, after you’ve overcome them, and even before you go through them.

Life isn’t just a test, it is a journey. We aren’t simply being graded on how well we do in each situation, but we are being taught, molded and formed. We aren’t here simply to prove ourselves worthy. We are here to become worthy, to become great and noble warriors, to become kings and queens.

God didn’t send us to Earth so that He could weed the weak from the strong. He sent us here because it was the only way we could learn certain things. God wants us all to return and live with Him, but He wanted more for us than simply living with Him. We already lived with God before we came to Earth. What God wants though is for us to become great. He wants us to reach the potential He sees in us. That’s why He sent us here, not to torture us or test us, or see who could be good enough but to help us become like Him.

That’s not to say that we’re going to become like God if we live our lives well. This life is just a step on a journey to greatness. God is all-powerful, all-knowing, and all-loving. If you think you can achieve that sort of greatness from this life, you are a much better person than I am. But slowly as we learn and progress on this journey and in the life after this journey, we will grow to be more and more like God and more and more worthy to be called His sons and daughters.

I don’t know what life has in store for me and I definitely don’t know what it has in store for you. But I know that as we try to do our best and learn from our mistakes, that God can and will make us greater than we’ve ever dreamed. Through our trials and our experiences God will help us see the greatness in ourselves and form us into the noble kings and queens He sent us here to become.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

