Six hours of Church

On a typical Sunday I attend 6 hours of church. This isn’t because my church requires us to be there for 6 hours. Our normal meetings are usually 3 hours, but I choose to attend another congregation’s meetings as well as the congregation I am assigned to.

Why do I chose to attend 6 hours of church? Well, at first I started doing this for the social aspect. I attend a congregation for families, but we also have one specifically for young single adults. I didn’t want to lose the opportunities I had with the people where I attend, but I also wanted to be able to associate with people my own age with similar circumstances.

Now however, my attitude has shifted. I no longer attend 6 hours of church for the social aspect. I attend 6 hours of church because I need 6 hours of church. I just don’t feel as good spiritually or mentally when I miss one or more of my meetings. I need that extra spiritual boost to help me be a happier person.

I love every one of those 6 hours that I go to church. I love everything that I learn and I love having that time to help me grow as a person and as a disciple of Christ. I also love the people that I meet there, but I no longer attend church hoping to meet someone to help me feel welcome. Instead I try to help others feel welcome. And even if I don’t meet or talk to anyone at church, I still feel complete because I learn things specifically for me and I can apply them to my life.

I have found that 6 hours of church is the ideal amount of time for me. If I get anything less than that, I just don’t seem to have the mental energy to keep me happy through the week.

 

What’s the ideal amount of church for you? Let me know in the comments!

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

