A Soft Answer

“A soft answer turneth away wrath: but grievous words stir up anger.”
-Proverbs 15:1

I have always loved this scripture, as well as Proverbs 16:32 (which doesn’t really have much to do with this post except that it also has to do with anger).

Anyway, I had a first hand experience with the power of this scripture yesterday.

My grandma was visiting my sister at the same time that I was staying there. I had to leave around 5:30 am in order to get to work on time. However, I planned on waking up at about 5:20 am to get ready. My grandma didn’t know this… so… she woke me up at 4:40 am.

Needless to say, I wasn’t too happy about this. I had been blissfully dreaming at the time and couldn’t fall back asleep after she woke me up. So I decided to get ready and go since trying to sleep again was pointless and I was too upset to stay. I changed, packed my car, and took off.

I drove for about 7 minutes before I realized that I had forgotten my phone. I went back to get my phone and my grandma answered the door. I rushed passed her telling her that I forgot my phone. Then she asked me why I left so quickly.

I told her that I was upset because she had woken me up 40 minutes before I had planned on waking up and that I was tired but couldn’t go back to sleep. She said she was sorry and that she thought I needed to shower and that it would take me longer to get ready. Exasperated, I explained that I had showered the night before so that I could sleep in a little longer because I knew I’d be up late spending time with my sister the night before.

She gave me a hug and said sorry. And then my anger just dissipated. I just felt love for her and even though I felt tired still, I wasn’t angry anymore. When I got in my car again, I couldn’t listen to music but instead found myself singing hymns all the way to work. I can’t say I’ve ever been happier to have woken up before 5 am.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

