Worth Saving

I have a best friend who saved my life. Not literally, and yet very literally. She didn’t push me out of the way of an oncoming car or anything like that, but she saved me from giving up the life I have.

I love my best friend and I love what she did for me. But only recently have I realized that it wasn’t really her that saved me.

She didn’t save me. But she did make me realize that I was worth saving. She didn’t give me worth, but made me realize that I could be of worth. She didn’t make me a better person, but she did make me want to become a better person. It wasn’t what she did for me that changed me, it was her influence changing my thoughts that changed me.

She helped me realize that I was worth saving. She helped me understand that I was worth being of worth. She gave me a reason to save myself. She gave me a reason to try for something better. Because she saw the potential in me that I couldn’t see in myself.

She didn’t save me. But she gave me a reason to be saved. And I am so grateful for that.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

