Inadequate to Visit Teach

I visit teach this amazing girl in my singles ward. I’ve been doing it alone for a few months because the singles ward is constantly changing and I haven’t been assigned a new companion yet. I have a visit tentatively scheduled for tomorrow, but today I just feel so inadequate for this calling.

I feel inadequate to visit someone else. I look at the holes in my shoes, my somewhat messy room, and my growing stack of letters I wrote but never gave, and I think, “who am I to visit someone else?”

I, myself, haven’t been visited since I came to the singles ward. I wonder if it’s for the same reason. Maybe everyone feels inadequate to visit someone else. Maybe we all look at the holes in our lives, the messiness, and the regrets, and we wonder, “who am I to visit someone else?”

The thing is, the person I visit teach thinks I’m completely amazing just because I show up, because I try. Yes, I still feel inadequate. But I keep trying. I keep going, not because I’m great but because I’m small. “By small and simple things are great things brought to pass.

Visiting teaching is a small and simple thing. Reaching outside of yourself and helping or talking to someone else is small, but it can do great things. If we don’t reach out to each other, we are only a church about Christ. It is only through visiting, serving, and fellowshipping that we become Christ’s church instead of simply a church about Christ.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

